Pyjama Bottoms for the P.J. Party

I don’t know which was more fun, making the pyjama pants or modelling them. You see, I am already at a pyjama party of sorts: my sister and I have travelled from different parts of North America to visit my parents. There’s lots of crossword-puzzling, weekend-newspaper-reading, Sherlock-watching, and cereal-eating.

I asked my sister to take some photos of me, a plan which quickly became derailed due to lots of giggling.  I tried to (clandestinely) jump on the pristine guest-bed with as quietly as I could, which of course only made us laugh more.

The pants themselves are great. I will be making lots more of these. The fabric was left over from a dress I made for a friend of mine. The pattern was NewLook 6321. This is a unisex pattern, so be forewarned! I cut out the smallest size and still had to take them in. I also cut a straight leg rather than a tapered one (who wants tapered pyjamas?).

I added in some extra touches – modelled after a favourite pair from Gap Body – including 2 inch wide elastic, a drawstring, and big cuffs. I wanted to make them at least a little bit fancy, so I added in some cute pleated-ribbon trim around the bottom of the cuffs. I LOVE them!

As always, my bedtime reading is The New Yorker. It’s a weekly subscription, so I’m always trying to keep on top of it!

Thanks to Karen for such a great idea! It was just the prompting I needed!

19 thoughts on “Pyjama Bottoms for the P.J. Party

  1. I just found your blog today and it’s so inspiring! you make the cutest clothes. It’s great how you show the pattern and give helpful tips that you’ve come across while making the piece.

  2. Pingback: Pyjama Party – I’m ready to Join the fun | sewmuchchoice

  3. Pingback: Pyjama Party Highlights | Did You Make That?

Leave a Reply

