Hearts Down Spring Top

This shirt is a combination of two patterns I have used before. Simplicity 2652 provided the base, but it would have been way too wide for a simple shirt, so I brought in all the darts from my favourite pattern, McCalls 5929.

The print on the fabric is actually all little hearts. That look was a little too cutsey for me, so I cut out the pieces with the fabric up-side down. I like that this way, you can see that they are hearts only if you look really closely, but it also gives a nice chevron effect as well.  The cotton is really soft and it’s so comfortable. I’ve already worn it to the market a couple of times! I think if I were to do this again I would take out the same amount of volume, and add elastic at the waist instead of buttons.

Special thanks to my awesome photographer, Denis Duquette. We were going for a natural look and the shoot was really fun. There was a lot of giggling going on!

9 thoughts on “Hearts Down Spring Top

  1. Pingback: Stitching Spotlights 4.27.2012

Leave a Reply

