Palm Springs Dress

Photographer: Denis Duquette

Photographer: Denis Duquette

Photographer Denis Duquette

Photographer Denis Duquette

Photographer Denis Duquette

I wanted to make a maxi dress for awhile, but I was having a hard time finding a pattern I liked. Being curvy, I was looking for a style that was not strapless or with spaghetti straps. This is Simplicity 2692, but I took out the sleeves. The dress came together pretty easily, once I very carefully cut out the material. I left the zipper fairly exposed, as I was able to find one that perfectly matched the print. I just lined the bodice, however, when I tried the whole thing on I decided that lining the skirt was definitely not optional. I wore it to two weddings in August and I felt so comfortable. The skirt has a lot of gathering, but isn’t too full either.

Thanks to photographer Denis Duquette I was able to get some great images and let my usual conscript have a break. We did a quick little shoot one night right before sunset. Between my dress, the sky and the water, I felt a little like a mermaid. Check out more of Denis’ beautiful work here!

Share

12 thoughts on “Palm Springs Dress

  1. Thank you so much for posting these pictures, they and your dress are quite magnificent! The third picture is especially beautiful.
    I just love the fabric you have used, the print is edgy and in great strong colours that suit your complexion beautifully. And the shape of the dress is so elegant; it is easy to see why you are so happy with it! 🙂

  2. Fabulous dress! I saw this on BurdaStyle, and it definitely stuck out to me. I’m glad you count it as your favorite garment sewn this summer. It deserves that title! Stunning photography, by the way. Everything is just perfect. Bravo! I look forward to seeing more of what you make!

Leave a Reply

