In the wee hours

This weekend I worked at the Farmer’s Market with School House Gluten-Free Gourmet. I was up and out of the house by 5:40 A.M. I rode my bike down in the fog with flashing traffic lights all the way. It was very dark and I could just see my breath in the air. There are a lot of trucks there at that time, and if you are someone who enjoys seeing people “set up shop”, I highly recommend getting to your local market early.  It was nice to be in the booth, see the sun come up and the shadows change quickly around you. And the produce – glistening rainbow chard, rainbow carrots, fennel, blueberries and more to tempt me with! However, I was very cognizant of the limits of my bike-basket, and hoarded only as much as I could carry home at the end of a very long, but very fun day.

Share

4 thoughts on “In the wee hours

Leave a Reply

