My wedding dress

Instyle March 2010

I can’t help but laugh when I tell people that I found my wedding dress at the gym. I was running on the treadmill and was flipping through the magazine that was already on there. When I came across this image I had to stop running. As discretely as I could (in the middle of the gym, all sweaty) I ripped this page out. I had to: this is the dress.

I have been engaged since Christmas, and while we have yet to make a single big decision (the date, location, etc.), I have picked one thing: my dress. Or rather, I have (perhaps over-ambitiously) decided to make my dress. It will be like this, only shorter.  Anne here is modeling an Oscar DeLaRenta.

This is going to be an elegant, but non-traditional wedding.  I love to wear bold colours, and I don’t see why my wedding dress should be any different. Before the handy days of Pinterest (you can see my boards here), I had also hoarded another ripped-out magazine page, that of the Vogue spread from the wedding of Dita Von Tease and Marilyn Manson (March 2006). While I certainly won’t be taking up the entire hall with a dress as massive as her Vivianne Westwood creation, the image of Dita in that glorious purple colour always stayed with me.

Photo by Steven Klein

I’m thinking by the time all is said and done (and decided upon), it will probably be about 2 years before the actual wedding, so that gives me plenty of time to:

1. Source materials

2. Find a pattern (vintage probably) with the appropriate proportions

3. Create several muslins on which to practice whatever that pleated-bodice technique is called (anyone have an idea?)

4. Finally, construct the actual dress!

Share

One thought on “My wedding dress

Leave a Reply

