Vintage Dress Dreamland

I found this store while wandering around Copenhagen. It was in the basement of the building across the street from the Fascinator Store. I carefully climbed down the steep staircase leading down from the street. I had to be careful not to hit my head on the door frame and I am only 5’2. At first, I couldn’t see anything, but when my eyes adjusted to the light I actually gasped with delight. FN92 specializes in gowns and day-dresses from the 1950’s and 60’s. It was a giant happy tulle overload. The owner sat behind the counter and I could hear his sewing machine going.  We had a great conversation about the endless stock, much of which survived the second world war, or has been sourced from Hollywood.

What you see in the images is only one part of the store. There is more tucked around the corner and tiny hallways crammed with wedding dresses. You had to be measured in order to try the dresses on, and once I was given the go-ahead I started to load up the dressing room. Unfortunately, even though there was such an amazing selection, I didn’t find anything that I absolutely loved! If you are even in Copenhagen, you should head over and visit the dresses. Just watch your head on the way in.

Share

Leave a Reply

