The Convention Dress

 

I finished this dress in time to wear it to the library convention, but didn’t end up wearing it (I got into a lot of awkward positions as the photographer that definitely required pants).  I have become obsessed with many-darted-button-downs, (see the Projects page) and am staying with that theme, now in dress form! It’s view C of Simplicity 2246, with the belt from another view. It was originally shown as a fake skirt/shirt combo. I used the same fabric for both parts, and was confused as to why the button placket was assembled in 4 pieces until I remembered that they were designed to be from different fabric.

Overall, I like the pattern, but I had some issues. I added pockets because they make everything better and shortened the whole thing by about 6 inches. The sizing is smaller for this line, so I went up a size to compensate and used a stretch cotton,  but the front still pulls. I might just add some snaps in-between the buttons for now. Next time, I will change the button placement and increase the length of the belt – it’s just a wee bit on the short side. I love the print though, and it’s so comfortable!

Maybe it’s the slightly retro/Modcloth shape, but this dress makes me want to watch A League of Their Own! I imagine the Rockford Peaches would love this dress.

Share

7 thoughts on “The Convention Dress

  1. Nice! I have this pattern and I’ve seen a few versions around already… must be catching on! Did you get this fabric at Fabricville, or has a new textile store opened in HRM?

  2. It is funny because I just made a dress so similar to this, the fabric is even similar, only yours has better sleeves. for some reason when I wear mine with the self fabric belt I feel like a waitress in a diner, but your doesn’t look like that at all. Yours looks cute and sweet, I do like mine, just with a different belt. Really cute, great job 🙂

  3. Coming over from BurdaStyle to again say how great this dress looks. Your combo looks so much sharper than the one on the pattern cover. I would have passed by it without a second look, but it’s going onto my “to do” list after seeing your version!

Leave a Reply

