Farmer’s Market Shirt

Hurray for Spring! Bring on colour!

I actually made this shirt over my school break in February, but hadn’t had a chance to photograph it since then. It’s another version of the Folsom Prison Blouse. This time I eliminated the ruffles and used the alternate collar. The material is a lovely doted “twinkle crepe” (I have do idea what that means, but I felt I needed a little twinkle in my day). Β The material was pretty easy to work with, but it became tricky when I had seams that crossed over both interfaced and non-faced parts. I was constantly going back and fourth between two different needles. I also ended up making 2 collars: Β I couldn’t get the first one to line up properly and after ripping it out several times, I decided it would be better to just start that part all over again and it gave me some material to practice the button holes on. I doubled the number of them and used some little pearly ones that didn’t make the cut for the last shirt. I love that it’s professional enough for the office, but is cozy enough for the saturday morning market run.

5 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Shirt

  1. I think that I need to start doing shoots using some of your clothes you’ve altered/created. We should talk more about this.

  2. I hopped over here from Burdastyle. I just wanted to tell you that your blouse is really cute. I love the colors, and the fit is perfect. You’ve inspired me to try this pattern out for myself. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

