On the way there

I live at one end of town and work at the other, so I get to see a lot of the city when I’m riding my bike.  In the morning, this sensory experience is acutely recognizable – the different parts of the city waking up.  I can tell exactly where I am based on smell and sound alone:

It always starts with “salty” fog,

Then streets and streets of beautiful flowers,

The smoke shop and it’s various inhabitants,

The brewery and the smell of yeast,

The bakery and the smell of bread,

The Commons,

And then the horse stables, which oddly enough means I am right downtown,

Public Gardens,

Spring Garden with the horns and gears of all the delivery trucks,

The graveyard,

and finally, two tricky turns and I am there.  It’s a lovely way to start the day.

Image source

Leave a Reply

