What is Slush? Its your new favorite drink

Slush has a long history in my family. When I was visiting my parents, I was delighted to discover they still use the same ice-cream scoop even. Googling “slush recipes” will get you a bunch of different versions (pomegranate!), but here is what my family does:

1 can frozen condensed orange juice with water according to instructions

1 can frozen condensed lemonade with water according to instructions

1 cup of  water with three steeping tea bags.

1 semi-large bottle of vodka (the one that’s less than a quart)

Combine all liquid ingredients in a large bucket with a lid, stir well and place in the freezer.

It may take days to freeze.  The outsides will freeze more, and the insides will be more of a snow-cone consistency.

Fill a jar/wine-glass/tumbler of your choice two-thirds full with slush.

Now add Ginger-Ale.

You can use any combination of clear soda mixer and fruit juice you like – flavoured vodka would be good to!

It’s the ideal summer drink* – reading on the patio, laying in the hammock, visiting a BBQ’s.

Enjoy!

* It is also delicious – but potent – when simply scooped out as snow cones.

 

One thought on “What is Slush? Its your new favorite drink

  1. I’m so glad you posted the recipe! I was telling someone about it recently, and realized that I didn’t actually know how to make it. I’m determined to make it for my friends at least once before the summer is over!

Leave a Reply

