Let them eat cake!

After seeing this post from The Kitchn, I decided to make my own birthday cake this year. I’m not even supposed to have chocolate (allergies), but I am a firm believer in the everything-goes-on-your-birthday policy. As the chef/baker in this house, I didn’t feel confident assigning a gluten-free cake to someone who wouldn’t know what even a ‘scant teaspoon’ meant. Gluten-free is tricky business in the first place, not to mention the fact that I was combining two recipes in an attempt to adapt what I wanted to gluten free.  They both had sour cream as a common ingredient, but that was about it. One used 3 eggs, one 5, so I compromised and went with 4. After shrugging my way through the rest of the recipe, I put it carefully in the oven and hoped for the best. What came out was one of the best cakes I’ve ever had. It was dense and fudgy, and the saltiness of the chopped pistachios cut the sweetness of the icing nicely.

Yes, I highly recommend making your own birthday cake.

 

Leave a Reply

