Collection Tour: Cherry Ames & The Bobbsey Twins

When Casey from Elegant Musings put out the call for cherished collections, I knew exactly what I would like to share. Allow me to present a small portion of my collection! My relationship with The Bobbsey Twins and Cherry Ames goes back thirty years.  My mother started collecting the books when she was pregnant with me (thanks Mom!). While other kids eagerly dove into The Boxcar Kids or maybe Nancy Drew or Hardy Boys, I always had a soft-spot for these slightly B-list books. I love to see them lined up on my shelves, green-tipped paper and all.

The books came from the Stratemeyer Syndicate, which also published the Nancy Drew books (there’s a great podcast on the history of the syndicate here).  The repetitive nature of the series makes them ideal for collecting. I always keep my eye out for them at used book stores, online, and at garage sales, although Cherry Ames titles are much harder to find in Canada. Neither series has survived the test of time well, with content that today would be considered sexist and racist (check out this article on the challenges of the Cherry Ames series). They are a portrait of a particular time in history.

Thanks to Casey for having me along on the tour!

Share

10 thoughts on “Collection Tour: Cherry Ames & The Bobbsey Twins

  1. I read all the Nancy Drew books as a key, some of the Cherry Ames and even the Hardy books. All from the library! I raced to see what books I had not read were on the shelves. What great fun that way. I always loved finding the books with the blue binders…I knew those were the older ones. All these books were great companions at the swimming pool.

  2. OMG i LOVE LOVE LOVE the bobbsey twins!! i grew up reading my mom and her sisters’ collection! i also love nancy drew but the bobsey twins and the oz series were my literary bff’s!

  3. I read Cherry Ames years ago. I really should start a collection of them since I am a nurse.
    I do have some Nancy Drews and Bobbsey Twins. Some were my daughter’s, some are new and some I’ve found in resale shops. I loved Nancy Drew’s and the Twins when I was a kid. I think they started my lifelong love of books with a bit of mystery to them.

  4. I loved both Nancy Drew and the Bobbsey Twins, but had never heard of Cherry Ames! You’ve piqued my interest and I’m going to have to find out more about her…

  5. What a lovely collection! Have to say I was more of an Enid Blyton fan as a child, but again her books have dated a bit with casual racism and sexism. I think the Famous Five was republished recently with a lot of the references changed to make it more suitable to contemporary children.

    • Definitely check out the podcast. Apparently, many of those kinds of books were even changed (quietly) in the fifties in order to update problematic attitudes from the thirties.

  6. Oh, Cherry Ames. I too collect these books. As a nurse, they hold a truly special place in my heart. The series has actually been republished, did you know? They are even available on e-readers these days.

Leave a Reply

